Logo Image Access

Bookeye® Scanners

The Industry Standard Book Scanner Bookeye®

Scan2Net® Technology as the Basis of the Bookeye® Book Scanner

The Scan2Net® technological platform forms the basis of all Bookeye® book scanners and WideTEK® large format scanners. Scan2Net® eliminates the need for proprietary drivers and interface cards and uses what is currently fastest, open connection to PC-based systems: TCP / IP over Ethernet.

Scan2Net® – the firmware kernel on all Image Access scanners- is compatible with operating systems such as Windows, Linux, Mac OS, Unix and all Web browsers like Internet Explorer, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

The numerous new features of HTML5 markup language, which is already implemented in most browsers, further extend the capabilities of the scanners.

A 64 bit Linux-based, virus protected operating system enables faster internal processing of the image data and optimizes the scanning process.

The latest generation of Intel processors make Scan2Net devices highly energy efficient. Thanks to the 4 GB of RAM, very large volumes of data can be processed at remarkable speeds and virtually unlimited job sizes are possible.

Bookeye® - A Book Scanner Success Story for Over 18 Years

The Bookeye® brand of overhead book scanners from Image Access has been a synonym worldwide for gentle and protective digitization of bound and stapled documents in large and smaller formats over the past 18 years.

The first generation of Bookeye® book scanners was developed in 1995, a grayscale system for documents up to A3 format. A year later, you could already scan documents in the A2+ format.

This was followed by the models Bookeye® 2 and Bookeye® 2 plus, which were built between 2000 and 2011. The Bookeye® 2 was the first color book scanner from Image Access and with over 2,500 successful installations around the globe.

Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 2plus - Book Scanners for Libraries and Archives

Bookeye® 2 was available in various different versions: up to A1+ size, with reproduction lighting, automatic book cradle and glass plate, depending on the requirements the customer had. From the beginning, all Bookeye® 2 book scanners had low emission lamps.

Eight years of experience with Bookeye® 1 and Bookeye® 2 in library and archive environments and the rapidly growing installation base, a third Bookeye® book scanner was developed in 2004. With this system, Image Access addressed the ever increasing demands from the market to satisfy requirements for mass digitization projects, which depend on stability, productivity and high image quality. The Bookeye® 3 family of book scanners was born - digitizing documents up to A1+ in size and with 600 dpi optical resolution, distinguished by an integrated, automatic book cradle with an optional glass plate and a completely revised illumination system which featured UV- and IR-free LED lamps.

Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 3 - Ideal book scanner for gentle scanning

Customers appreciated the universal applicability of the Bookeye® 3 and the excellent quality of the scan results. A perfect example of the unique and universal qualities of the the Bookeye® 3 was the implementation of over 90 Bookeye® 3 book scanners in the Japanese Parliamentary Library, in which not only the highest quality scanning results were required but also that the book scanners are tough enough to withstand 24/7 operation.

Unique V Shaped Cradle Again Sets Standards

Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 4 V2 Book Scanner for Formats up to DIN A2+

At CeBIT 2010, the Bookeye® 4 product family was launched. Once again, all the experience and requirements of what had grown to over 4,000 installations were compiled and implemented into a completely new book scanner concept. The attributes that set Bookeye apart from other book scanners on the market remained -- high productivity and top quality of the scanner, scanning documents up to A1+ at 600 optical dpi and a level of usability so simple that it could be implemented as a self service device.

New and unique to the Bookeye® 4 book scanner family is the integrated V shaped cradle that allows users to scan documents lying flat, as well as originals opened in the 120 degree V shaped cradle for maximum protection to the document´s spine.

Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 4 V1A - Protective V Shaped Cradle 140° to 180°

Controls such as a large color WVGA touchscreen, trigger buttons on the scanning area or a large preview monitor, attached ergonomically optimized at the rear of the scanner, round out the brilliant technical features of the Bookeye® 4.

All Bookeye® book scanners are CE, UL, cUL, WEEE, RoHS and Energy Star compliant.


Major international Bookeye book scanner installations include:

  • In National Libraries (India, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Russia, Japan, Nigeria, Norway)
  • In National Archives (Venezuela, Seychelles, Estonia)
  • In universities (Queens University Belfast, Harvard University, USA, Benaras Hindu University in India, King Saudi University, University of Bratislava , Universidad de las Americas, Mexico)
  • In museums (The Museum of Modern Art, National Museum, New Delhi)
  • And in many, many other public and private institutions
.
Image Access GmbH © 2016

Logo Image Access

Bookeye® Scanners

Der Buchscanner Bookeye®

Scan2Net® Technologie als Basis der Bookeye® Buchscanner

Die Scan2Net® Technologieplattform bildet die Basis aller Bookeye® Buchscanner und WideTEK® Großformatscanner. Scan2Net® ersetzt bisher notwendige Treiber sowie Interfacekarten und nutzt die zurzeit schnellste, offene Verbindung zu PC-gestützten Systemen: TCP/IP über Ethernet.

Scan2Net® - das Betriebssystem für Scanner - ist kompatibel zu Betriebssystemen wie Windows, Linux, Mac OS, Unix und zu allen Webbrowsern wie Internet Explorer, Safari, Chrome und Firefox.

Die vielfältigen neuen Funktionalitäten der Seitenbeschreibungssprache HTML5, die in den meisten Browsern bereits implementiert ist, erweitern die Fähigkeiten der Scanner.

Ein auf 64 BIT Linux basiertes, virengeschütztes Betriebssystem ermöglicht eine schnellere interne Verarbeitung der Bilddaten und optimiert somit den Scanprozess.

Einen Beitrag zum Thema Energieeffizienz leistet die neueste Generation von Intel Prozessoren. Dank der Ausstattung mit einem Arbeitsspeicher von 4 GB RAM können sehr große Datenvolumen verarbeitet werden. Nahezu unlimitierte Jobgrößen sind dadurch möglich.

Bookeye® Aufsichtsscanner - Eine Erfolgsgeschichte seit über 18 Jahren

Unter den Aufsichtsscannern ist die Marke Bookeye® von Image Access seit mehr als 18 Jahren weltweit ein Synonym für das vorlagenschonende Digitalisieren von gebundenen, gehefteten und großformatigen Dokumenten.

Die erste Generation der Bookeye® Buchscanner wurde 1995 entwickelt, ein reines Graustufensystem für Vorlagen bis zum Format DIN A3+. Schon ein Jahr später scannte der Bookeye® Vorlagen im Format DIN A2+.

Es folgten die Modelle der Buchscanner Bookeye® 2 und Bookeye® 2 plus, die von 2000 bis 2011 gebaut wurden. Der Bookeye® 2 war der erste Buchscanner aus dem Hause Image Access, der farbig scannte. Mit über 2.500 Installation ein sehr erfolgreicher Scanner.

Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 2plus - Buchscanner für den Einsatz in Bibliotheken und Archiven

Den Aufsichtsscanner Bookeye® 2 gab es in verschiedenen Varianten: bis zum Format DIN A1+, mit Repro-Beleuchtung, automatischer Buchwippe und Glasplatte. Variantenreich erfüllte er die Anforderungen der Kunden. Alle Bookeye® 2 Systeme hatten von Beginn an emissionsarme Leuchtstofflampen.

Mit den Erfahrungen aus acht Jahren Bookeye® 1 und Bookeye® 2 im Bibliotheks- und Archivumfeld sowie der schnell wachsenden Installationsbasis wurde 2004 der Buchscanner Bookeye® 3 entwickelt. Mit diesem Scanner stellte sich Image Access den immer höher werdenden Ansprüchen aus der Retrodigitalisierung und den Massendigitalisierungsprojekten, bei denen es auf Stabilität und Produktivität in Verbindung mit hoher Imagequalität ankommt. Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 3 - Idealer Buchscanner für vorlagenschonendes Scannen Die Produktfamilie der Buchscanner Bookeye® 3 war der nächste erfolgreiche Schritt. Nicht nur die maximale Scangröße von bis zu DIN A1+ und die optische Auflösung von 600 dpi zeichnete diese Aufsichtsscanner aus. Diese Geräte verfügten über eine integrierte, motorisierte Buchwippe mit optionaler Glasplatte sowie über eine völlig neue Beleuchtung, bei der erstmals IR und UV emissionsfreie LED Lampen zum Einsatz kamen.

Kunden schätzten am Bookeye® 3 die universelle Einsetzbarkeit und die ausgezeichnete Qualität der Scanergebnisse. Exemplarisch sei hier ein Projekt in der japanischen Parlamentsbibliothek genannt, bei dem für den qualitätssensiblen Teil über 90 Bookeye® 3 Aufsichtsscanner in Einsatz waren, zeitweise im 24/7 Betrieb.

Einzigartig ist die integrierte V-Buchwippe

Buchscanner Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 4 V2 für Formate bis DIN A2+

Zur CeBIT 2010 erfolgte der Startschuss für die aktuelle Bookeye® 4 Buchscanner Produktfamilie. Auch hier wurden wieder einmal alle Erfahrungen und Anforderungen aus den nun schon über 4.000 Installationen zusammen genommen und ein völlig neuartiges Buchscannerkonzept realisiert. Gleich geblieben ist die hohe Produktivität und Qualität der Scanner, Vorlagen bis zum Format DIN A1+ lassen sich problemlos mit bis zu 600 dpi optischer Auflösung scannen.
Neu und einzigartig ist die integrierte V-Buchwippe, die es ermöglicht, mit diesen Buchscannern sowohl eben aufliegende Vorlagen als auch gebundene Dokumente in der V-Buchwippe maximal schonend zu scannen. Bei den Modellen der Bookeye® 4 V2 Serie kann die V-förmige Buchwippe in einem Öffnungswinkel von 120 Grad arretiert werden. Bookeye<sup>®</sup> 4 V1A - Buchschonende V-Buchwippe 140 - 180 Grad Bei dem großen Bruder, dem Bookeye® 4 V1A, beträgt der Öffnungswinkel 140 Grad.
Alle Aufsichtsscanner der Bookeye 4 Produktfamilie verfügen über einen integrierten Touchscreen, einen 19 Zoll Monitor zur Kontrolle der Images und die V-Buchwippe - eine aufklappbare, V-förmige Buchwippe. Diese Features runden den Bookeye® 4 in seiner technischen Brillanz ab.

Alle Bookeye® Buchscanner sind CE konform und verfügen über zahlreiche Prüfzeichen, wie z.B. cETLus, ETL-EU und CCC. Sie sind WEEE, RoHS und Energy Star konform.

Bedeutende, internationale Installationen mit Bookeye® Buchscannern sind unter anderem zu finden in:

  • Nationalbibliotheken (Indien, Mongolei, Kazakhstan, Russland, Japan, Nigeria, Norwegen)
  • Nationalarchiven (Venezuela, Seychellen, Estland)
  • Universitäten (Queens University Belfast, Harvard University USA, Benaras Hindu University Indien, King Saudi University, University of Bratislava, Universidad de las Americas Mexiko)
  • Museen (The Museum of Modern Art, National Museum New Delhi)
  • und vielen anderen öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen
Image Access GmbH © 2016